Who We Are

Virginia Food Heritage Project Advisory Committee

  1. Tim Beatley – Professor, U.Va. School of Architecture Department of Urban and Environmental Planning, Founder of Center for Design and Health and also Biophilic Cities Project
  2. Paul Freedman – Professor, U.Va. Department of Politics, Founding member of U.Va. Food Collab, and Board Member of City Schoolyard Garden
  3. Christine Gyovai – Appalachian Food Heritage Project, Blue Ridge Permaculture Network, and founding co-principal of Dialogue + Design Associates
  4. Genevieve Keller – architectural historian/ preservation planner, and founding co-principal of Land and Community Associates
  5. Beth Meyer – Dean, School of Architecture, Professor of Landscape Architecture, Founder of Center for Cultural Landscapes
  6. Jack Robertson – Foundation Librarian at Monticello’s Jefferson Library
  7. Jamie Ross –  Director, Red Dirt Productions, and Agee Films, award-winning documentary filmmakers with a focus on history, heritage and food
  8. Alexandria Searls –  Executive Director of the Lewis and Clark Exploratory Center
  9. Susan Stimart – Economic Development Facilitator, Albemarle County
  10. Kristen Suokko – Executive Director, Local Food Hub
  11. Selena Cozart, Ph.D., Community Scholar and Facilitator
  12. (On temporary leave) Leni Sorenson, Ph.D., culinary historian, teacher of home provisioning and rural life skills, lecturer, consultant, writer

Partners/ Non-Voting Members

  • Aaron Presnall  – Director, The Jefferson Foundation (and mobile app developer)
  • Chip Boyles – ED of TJPD Commission 
  • Billie Campbell – ED of the TJPD Corporation 

VFHP Staff

  • Penny Harrison Latham – Development Director, VFHP – providing development, outreach, fundraising, marketing
  • Tanya Denckla Cobb  – Director, Institute for Environmental Negotiation, providing research and knowledge for development of trails, internal university fundraising, university-community relations
  • Reem Hashim, Graduate Student, Frank Batten School of Leadership and Public Policy (2016)
  • Joanie Fasulo, University of Virginia (2018)
  • Allie Arnold, University of Virginia (2018)